Skip to content

Mini Adventure: Snip snip snip

August 15, 2012

One of the items on my Adventures To Do list was to cut my own hair. It’s not running a marathon or climbing Everest, but it is something I’ve never done before, which in my book, qualifies as an adventure. Okay, maybe a miniature adventure…but if a Shetland pony is still a pony than a mini adventure is still and adventure.

Everyone has their own trademark, whether it is their dreadlocks, their face tattoo, particularly long legs, slightly crossed eyes, etc. My trademark has always been my hair. It’s red, and I know I sound like a self-loving douche here, but it’s also quite nice looking.

I have been growing it out for a couple of years now, waiting until it was long enough to make a donation to Locks of Love. I’m not sure I ever really intended on cutting my own hair. It was a last minute decision based on this conversation:

Me: “Yes! Tuesday! No workout today!”
Husband: “Yep. What do you want to do?”
Me: “I don’t know…play Resistance 3, maybe a watch a movie, hit the beach.” (We live by Lake Michigan.)
Husband: “When are you going to get your haircut?”
Me:  “That’s what we could do!”

I have cut my husband’s hair before. It usually ends with me apologizing profusely or, when it’s really really bad, laughing hysterically. About 90 seconds after making the decision to remove 11 inches of hair, I was standing in front of the mirror, junk drawer scissors in hand.

 

I don’t think I’ll make a career out of it, but recognizing my ability to cut my own hair will save me about $30 in haircuts every two years. Which is $30 more I can put toward our next real adventure. Score. And Locks of Love will be reaping the benefits as well. Total win-win.

Stay tuned…I’m cooking squid this weekend. We’ll see how that goes…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

