Skip to content

Adventure 11 : Zombie Horde.

July 13, 2012

A lot of people play the If-I-Were-in-a-Zombie-Apocalypse game, conceiving the best weapon, the best location, the best strategy…but here’s the truth: Whether imagining yourself wielding a machete, a sniper rifle, or a nail-spiked baseball bat, chances are, you’re going to end up with a calculator jammed into your skull and fresh human guts dripping from the chin. Such is the way of a zombie apocalypse.

Don’t believe me? Think you’ve conceived the perfect zombie escape plan? Fine. Prove it.

The Run for Your Lives: Zombie Infested 5K Obstacle Course Race may not give you the opportunity to shoot a zombie in the face with a shotgun, but it will still be an adventure that you’ve never had before! A few weeks ago, in an out-of-the-way Indianapolis farm, I was lucky enough to participate in this unforgettable event—not as a runner, but as a member of the brain-craving, disease-carrying, flesh-eating, horde of the undead.

Experience as a zombie:
When you first arrive at the Run for Your Lives event, you’ll be checked in and given a card with the rules and your zombie location. The event was surprisingly organized for a group of horror movie fanatics.

Next, you’ll proceed to costume. Most zombies come in their own, personally selected attire (nurses, superheros, convicts, prom queens, brides, Wayne and Garth); however, they do have shirts and clothing shredders available to any zombie who needs them. After your clothes look like they’ve been put through a garbage disposal, you will be sent to make up.

Me and Zombie GuyThree professional make-up artists were responsible for making me look like the walking dead. I was airbrushed with a pale foundation, making it look like every drop of blood had drained out of me, and then my veins were traced faintly with grayish paint, giving the illusion that the blood had been replaced with something dirty. The last make-up artist applied thick red chunky goo on my face and chest to give the appearance of some serious flesh wounds. Lastly, I stepped outside and was sprayed down with what looked like muddy water, and then had a fistful of blood chucked at me for a good spatter effect.

And now…to eat the brains.

Every zombie is given a specific location from which they may attack the runners. Stumbler zombies don’t wander off too far, but a chaser zombie will sprint on without hesitation, trying to steal one of the runner’s three precious flags. I was lucky enough to be placed in the creek—it felt wonderful in the heat of the day—and tried to look as creepy as possible. It was an absolute blast. The runners really got into it, and the zombies moaned and hissed and cried for brains, brains, brains. My shift as a zombie lasted three glorious hours. I had so much fun scaring the crap out of runners, that I didn’t even bother to steal any flags. Even though it’s certainly fake, you’d be surprised how many runners were truly terrified.

Experience as a runner:
I did not run the race, so I can’t go into too much detail. My husband, however, was a runner, and he gave me a little bit of info about what it was like:

So I mentioned obstacles, right? Apparently, there are mud pits, gut pits, monkey bars, net climbs, darkened barns, and creeks. You’ll even run into a couple electrical obstacles, which are particularly interesting when you consider that the runners are soaking wet from the creek. A few people were zapped pretty good. I think a couple did require medical attention (my husband’s friend was shocked, but it was mild enough for him to keep running). Oh, and did I mention there is a hoard of zombies chasing you the whole way?

The entire event was dirty, disgusting, disturbing, and absolutely delightful. I will absolutely buy my ticket again for next year, and I recommend you do the same.

Check it out: http://runforyourlives.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2012 1:32 pm

    Oh, WOW. I want to do this!

    • July 18, 2012 3:03 pm

      They are heading to Missouri next. You definitely should do it. Crazy experience. Helpful hint: shaving cream helps to remove the zombie makeup.

      • July 18, 2012 3:08 pm

        Huh. I’d never have guessed.

Leave a Reply

