Skip to content

Adventure 2: The Slingshot

February 4, 2012

On February 19th, after twenty-three years, the 500th episode of The Simpsons will air on Fox. At least two generations of children have grown up watching Bart Simpson raise hell with practical jokes, shenanigans, and, as my grandpa would say, general orneriness.

One key item in Bart’s trouble-making toolbox was the trusty slingshot.

While I was hunting for some trestle logs the other day, I happened upon the perfect Y shaped branch for a slingshot. Normally, I would have left it lying in the heap with all the other wood. (Actually, normally, I wouldn’t have been out there in the first place). Making the most of small things is, however, the whole point of this blog, so I took it home with me in anticipation of a future adventure.

The first step in production was cutting the branch to the appropriate size, which required slicing off about fourteen inches of extra wood (I used pine). The only “saw” that I have was probably meant to cut through plaster because it was only sturdy enough to cut about a quarter inch of wood all the way around. Eventually, I just snapped off the rest.

Enter pocket knife: I though stripping the bark would make the slingshot look a little nicer and grip better, so I shaved off all the bark using my newly rediscovered pocket knife. I also used the knife to cut a couple strips of surgical tubing that I’d picked up from Ace Hardware, and also to cut a couple in holes in the snipped tongue of an old pair of canvas converse shoes for the sling. A couple rubber bands, some electrical tape and bam, got myself a slingshot.

What I liked most about this project was the fun it added to my night. I had to go to the Secretary of State’s office yesterday morning, where I waited in line for an hour. After that, I had a particularly long and boring day work only to come home to an hour of P90X exercises. Usually, this would end with me falling asleep on the couch. Instead I had a lot of fun putting together a toy I’d always wanted to have as a kid. By the time I went to bed, my hands smelled like pine and all the day’s troubles were forgotten.

There isn’t a whole lot of hell-raising to do when you’re my age. Bart always pestered Principal Skinner. I have a feeling my boss wouldn’t appreciate any slingshot related tomfoolery. Thank God for my poor husband who, after a bit of target practice, helped me locate all the grapes that I’d shot around the apartment.

Later dudes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2012 3:23 pm

    I have always wanted to do this, never got around to. I definitely need to make me one of them aaargh-who-threw-that things. 🙂

    • July 18, 2012 5:10 pm

      It was definitely a fun project. I made a mess of my apartment, though. Smashed mini carrots all over the place.

Leave a Reply

